I solemnly swear to ignore my oath

According to the Supreme Court website, Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg took two oaths on August 10, 1993.  First, the Constitutional Oath:

“I, [Ruth Bader Ginsburg], do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same; that I take this obligation freely, without any mental reservation or purpose of evasion; and that I will well and faithfully discharge the duties of the office on which I am about to enter.  So help me God.”

Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States


Second, the Judicial Oath:

“I, [Ruth Bader Ginsburg], do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will administer justice without respect to persons, and do equal right to the poor and to the rich, and that I will faithfully and impartially discharge and perform all the duties incumbent upon me as [official title] under the Constitution and laws of the United States.  So help me God.”

Since they’re practicing law, nothing can be simple, so “upon occasion, appointees to the Supreme Court have taken a combined version of the two oaths”. The Combined Oath, which perhaps she took instead:

“I, [Ruth Bader Ginsburg], do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will administer justice without respect to persons, and do equal right to the poor and to the rich, and that I will faithfully and impartially discharge and perform all the duties incumbent upon me as [official title] under the Constitution and laws of the United States; and that I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same; that I take this obligation freely, without any mental reservation or purpose of evasion; and that I will well and faithfully discharge the duties of the office on which I am about to enter.  So help me God.”

How can any of these versions jibe with the statements she made on Egyptian Al-Hayat TV on January 30, 2012 (hat tip @marklevinshow):

“I can’t speak about what the Egyptian experience should be, because I’m operating under a rather old constitution. The United States, in comparison to Egypt, is a very new nation, and yet we have the oldest written constitution still in force in the world.”

A “rather old” one, huh? Wow, that’s deep. You must be one of those intellectual elites I keep hearing about? “Rather old” in a “these go to 11“-kinda way, right?

Well, it's 1 louder, isn't it?

Returning to the genius of Justice Ruth:

“You should certainly be aided by all the constitution-writing that has gone one since the end of World War II. I would not look to the US constitution, if I were drafting a constitution in the year 2012. I might look at the constitution of South Africa. That was a deliberate attempt to have a fundamental instrument of government that embraced basic human rights, had an independent judiciary… It really is, I think, a great piece of work that was done. Much more recent than the US constitution – Canada has a Charter of Rights and Freedoms. It dates from 1982. You would almost certainly look at the European Convention on Human Rights. Yes, why not take advantage of what there is elsewhere in the world?”

Yeah. Because remember, the general point I want you to remember is “rather old.” Because I’m smart and stuff. I wear this black robe.

1 comment so far

  1. [...] Ruth Bader Ginsburg’s views on our Constitution doesn’t shock you then you are a Liberal. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

