Windows, iTunes, iPod, and Linux can coexist (part 3)

You should backup your collection before you make the step to DRM-Freedom.  I make my backups to my iPod, effectively storing my entire collection there twice.  I do this because iTunes’ automatic sync to my iPod doesn’t maintain the artist/album/song directory structure on the iPod side that I would expect.  First, when my iPod is connected to my Windows box, I “enable disk use” for the iPod in iTunes like this:

iPod enable disk use

iPod enable disk use

Next I copy all my music (all files under “My Documents\My Music\iTunes\iTunes Music”) to a backup folder on the iPod using Windows Explorer.


Part 1 – introduction
Part 2 – stop buying DRM music
Part 3 – initial backup
Part 4 – upgrade to iTunes Plus
Part 5 – burn remaining songs to MP3
Part 6 – rename files
Part 7 – trust but verify
Part 8 – conclusion

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

