national focus guilt

Although born the same year as I, Andrew Breitbart earned his general officer stars, while I am but a (figurative) second lieutenant.  We strive to “take our country back”, beyond peeling and applying the hypocritical bumper sticker.  We each have limited time, from both daily and lifetime perspectives.  So I feel guilt as I often look past the local horizon and spend my time and modest earnings on national concerns.  I don’t deserve that audience, and there are plenty of problems closer to home worthy of attention.  But as I consider it carefully now, perhaps our nation was jolted from slumber in 2008, and we furiously engage in sleepless triage as untrained medics learning our trade and making mistakes on the fly.

"Need some triage?"

We’re desperate to keep our beloved nation alive, and she’s not out of the woods yet.  If we succeed in that short term exertion, I long for the day that we can exhale, rest peacefully for a couple of days, and reset with a longer term, less urgent view closer to home.

1 comment so far

  1. Mr. Man on

    Beautifully composed my friend!


Leave a Reply

