Happy 70th, Dad!

Happy 70th to Marshall’s and my wonderful Dad today. One of my first memories was him holding me up at the nursery window at the University of Virginia Hospital to meet my new brother – I distinctly remember declaring “We’ll keep him!” He mesmerized me at the dinner table with his invisible ball into the paper bag trick (I never did figure it out). In our youth, Dad took us on countless camping trips (much to Mom’s chagrin) along the Skyline Drive, where Marshall and I could ride bikes to our heart’s content (a love that endures for both of us). On a family trip up north, we stopped at a tourist spot (I believe it was Gravity Hill in PA) where the guide collected our fee and asked us to stop and put our car in neutral so it could “roll uphill”. Dad was spitting mad just a few seconds into the excursion, throwing the car back into drive and peeling away from that bleeping tourist trap!

Love you, Dad! Hapsy Birfsday!

Dad turned around the disfunctional Scout troop he inherited, and was my only Scoutmaster. He was tapped for OA before I was. He made sure that I stayed gainfully employed as a youth, whether that involved mowing our huge lawn or giving me “that job” working for his masonry company that solidified my desire to stay in school.

Dad has a work ethic that I can only aspire to. He was a tireless provider for our family, and sacrificed much to provide Marshall and me top-notch educations. He’s got a great sense of humor, and always has the grandkids and us in stitches. He’s flying home with Mom from California today from a visit with Marshall’s family, so safe travels! I’m looking forward to our trip together next month to bike the Virginia Creeper trail.

Happy Birthday, Dad. We love you very much!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

