Multiple Monitors in Ubuntu

Update, 2011-06-01:  grumble, this is broken again in Ubuntu 11.04.  I currently don’t have a solution, and I’m just working without my external monitor.  Not goodness.

I recently updated all my ZaReason boxen to Ubuntu 10.04, and managing multiple monitors in this update is easier than it used to be.Via the System==>Preferences==>Monitor menu…

…change the settings on the dialog shown.  The graphical representation of the screen layouts is interactive, allowing you to fine tune relative positions between your multiple monitors.

Two complaints with this dialog-based approach:

  1. It doesn’t appear to allow saving monitor configurations, which would be useful for mobile machines whose external monitor configurations change frequently.
  2. It doesn’t seem to allow different desktop backgrounds for each monitor

Leave a comment